Results of MKMA Contest-2014 India

Maya KAMATH Memorial Awards For Excellence In Cartooning – 2014
Instituted By The Family Of Late Maya KAMATH Results..

Indian Institute of Cartnoonists is happy to announce the result of the Maya Kamath Memorial Awards Competition- 2014 organised recently. We had received 91 entries from
Indian Cartoonists for the Awards for Excellence in Political Cartooning, 44 for Best Budding Cartoonist Award and 53 for Best Foreign Cartoon Award. 

The Prizes will be distributed on 6th June 2015 at a special function at the cartoon gallery, Bangalore. An exhibition of selected entries will be displayed on the same occasion.

M K M Awards for Excellence in Political Cartooning - 2014
1st prize- Mr. Satish ACHARYA, Kundapur, Karnataka, (Rs.25,000)
2nd prize- Mr. Kantesh BADIGER, Bangalore, (Rs.15,000)
3rd prize- Mr. Rohan CHAKRAVARTY, Nagpur, (Rs. 5,000)

Special Jury appreciation prizes of (Rs. 2,500) 
1. Mr. Gajanan Ghongde, Akola
2. Sahil Bhatia, Delhi
3. Tanmay Tyagi, New Delhi

Best Foreign Cartoon - 2014
1. Paolo DALPONTE, Italy, (US $ 200)
2. Behzad GHAFARI, Canada, (US $ 100)

Certificates of Merit
1. Luc DESCHEEMAEKAR, Belgium.   
2. Jovan PROKOPIJEVIC, Serbia
3. Georgievski MIRO, Macedonia

Best Budding Cartoonist - 2014
Miss  Leeza JOHN, Pottamkulam, Kerala, (Rs.10,000)

Opinion of the Jury
The Jury of the MKMA met on 1st April 2015 at the Gallery and went through the entries. It was very gratifying to see that the competition is getting entries from all over the world, from countries as far as Serbia, Croatia, Iran, Cyprus, Italy and Macedonia. The quality of the entries was very high, particularly in the International section. The best entries from India are also excellent, original in conception, consummate in craftsmanship.The Jury expressed their appreciation of the work done by Mr. V.G.Narendra, Managing Trustee, IIC in making this an International event.

 The Jury includes Mr. Girish Karnad, Noted playwright and actor, Mr. S.G.Vasudev well known artist and Mr. B.G.Gujjarappa, senior cartoonist. (Source: Behzad GHAFARI)
Website/India Institute of Cartoonists




Best Budding Cartoonist
Leeza JOHN

Best Foreign Cartoon 2014 (1)

Best Foreign Cartoon 2014 (2)